About the Ministry

Ministry of Health and Family welfare has two Departments viz. Department of Health & Family welfare and Department of Health Research. Each of these Departrnents is headed by the Secretary to the Government of India:-

Department of Health & Family Welfare Department of Health Research

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has the following two attached Offices :-

(i) Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS) is an attached office of the Department of Health & Family welfare and has subordinate offices spread all over the country. The DGHS renders technical advice on all Medical and Public Health matters and is involved in the implementation of various Health Services.

(ii) National Health Authority (NHA) has been set up as an attached Office to Ministry of Health & Family welfare vide extraordin ary Gazette Notification no. 3(4)12018- H&FW (Part.III) Vol.2 dated 01.02.2019 of NITI Aayog. NHA is the apex body responsible for implementing India's flagship public health insurance/assurance scheme called "Ayushman Bharat- Pradhan Mantri Jan Arogya Yojana" & has been entrusted with the role of designing strategy, building technological infrastructure and implementation of "National Digital Health Mission" to create a National Digital Health Eco-system.